Go Back   Club Bazooka > Bazooka Technical Forums > Amplified Tube Subwoofers

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-09-2010, 11:00 PM
Vancouverguy's Avatar
Vancouverguy Vancouverguy is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Vancouverguy is on a distinguished road
Help 0003 10" Tube Sub is Bottoming out?!? Need Advice

I pieced together what I thought was going to be a kick a$$ system for my car. I have a double din Kenwood DNX6160 and play mainly music through the ipod.

Front speakers are Hertz components, rear are pioneer coaxial and then I have a newly installed 10" Bazooka Amplified tube. I had all of the components professionally installed and the sub is facing into the corner of the trunk as outlined in the recommendations.

The subwoofer makes a popping sound with too much bass. The problem I have is that my Kenwood is set to Subwoofer level 1, overall base 3 and the tube it's self is almost cranked all the way down.

I don't want so much base that it rattles my license plate, but I did think that I would have a bit more thump with a 10" tube?

Any ideas of what could be wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-09-2010, 11:02 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,959
Thanks: 353
Thanked 778 Times in 696 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 788
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: 10" Tube Sub is Bottoming out?!? Need Advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vancouverguy View Post
I pieced together what I thought was going to be a kick a$$ system for my car. I have a double din Kenwood DNX6160 and play mainly music through the ipod.

Front speakers are Hertz components, rear are pioneer coaxial and then I have a newly installed 10" Bazooka Amplified tube. I had all of the components professionally installed and the sub is facing into the corner of the trunk as outlined in the recommendations.

The subwoofer makes a popping sound with too much bass. The problem I have is that my Kenwood is set to Subwoofer level 1, overall base 3 and the tube it's self is almost cranked all the way down.

I don't want so much base that it rattles my license plate, but I did think that I would have a bit more thump with a 10" tube?

Any ideas of what could be wrong?
Welcome to the Bazooka Forum. Which model amplified Tube do you have?
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-10-2010, 02:18 AM
Vancouverguy's Avatar
Vancouverguy Vancouverguy is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Vancouverguy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 10" Tube Sub is Bottoming out?!? Need Advice

Hi,
Thanks for the welcome. I have a BTA10100FHC amplified tube. It is mounted in the trunk.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-10-2010, 06:17 AM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,959
Thanks: 353
Thanked 778 Times in 696 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 788
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: 10" Tube Sub is Bottoming out?!? Need Advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vancouverguy View Post
Hi,
Thanks for the welcome. I have a BTA10100FHC amplified tube. It is mounted in the trunk.
What frequency do you have the subwoofer crossover set at on the headunit? Dial the bass out of the headunit and defeat any loudness and bass boost function to see if the output improves.
__________________
power your system down

Last edited by heavyduty; 12-10-2010 at 09:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2010, 09:48 AM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,959
Thanks: 353
Thanked 778 Times in 696 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 788
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: 10" Tube Sub is Bottoming out?!? Need Advice

After putting a bit more thought into your post, you may possibly be dealing with a phase issue. Do you have any idea what inputs are being used for the Tube, High Level or Low Level? If your troubleshooting skills are limited, you need to go back and discuss these issues with your installer.
__________________
power your system down

Last edited by heavyduty; 12-10-2010 at 09:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-10-2010, 10:19 AM
Vancouverguy's Avatar
Vancouverguy Vancouverguy is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Vancouverguy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 10" Tube Sub is Bottoming out?!? Need Advice

Hey, we did briefly touch on this during the install and I the high level was chosen based on the type of system I have.

Was that a wrong choice?

I will try the "am i in phase" instructions from the manual to see if I can tell?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-10-2010, 10:23 AM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,959
Thanks: 353
Thanked 778 Times in 696 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 788
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: 10" Tube Sub is Bottoming out?!? Need Advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vancouverguy View Post
Hey, we did briefly touch on this during the install and I the high level was chosen based on the type of system I have.

Was that a wrong choice?

I will try the "am i in phase" instructions from the manual to see if I can tell?
No, the High Level Inputs are always my first choice when it comes to the BTAXX100 line, especially with the fixed crossover and subsonic filters on these units. What speakers are you using for your input signal, front or rear?
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-10-2010, 10:32 AM
Vancouverguy's Avatar
Vancouverguy Vancouverguy is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Vancouverguy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 10" Tube Sub is Bottoming out?!? Need Advice

Hey,
Well...i have quickly become out of my depth based on your last questions. ;-) I do know that the deck had a separate RCA inputs for the subwoofer.

I will call the installer today and ask him. Anything else that might be helpful in trouble shooting.

I really appreciate the help. Cheers.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-10-2010, 10:39 AM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,959
Thanks: 353
Thanked 778 Times in 696 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 788
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: 10" Tube Sub is Bottoming out?!? Need Advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vancouverguy View Post
Hey,
Well...i have quickly become out of my depth based on your last questions. ;-) I do know that the deck had a separate RCA inputs for the subwoofer.

I will call the installer today and ask him. Anything else that might be helpful in trouble shooting.

I really appreciate the help. Cheers.
This is what the Bazooka Forum is for, I'm more then happy to help. Until you find out what channels you used for the inputs, anything else will lead to information overload. Post back with what you find out.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-10-2010, 03:55 PM
Vancouverguy's Avatar
Vancouverguy Vancouverguy is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
Vancouverguy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: 10" Tube Sub is Bottoming out?!? Need Advice

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyduty View Post
No, the High Level Inputs are always my first choice when it comes to the BTAXX100 line, especially with the fixed crossover and subsonic filters on these units. What speakers are you using for your input signal, front or rear?
Alright, spoke with the installer.

Input signal is via RCA plugs to the Kenwood subwoofer rear input. The deck has a separate Subwoofer control.

http://www.kenwoodusa.com/Car_Entert...gation/DNX6160

I am also sending a link of this thread to the installer via email...so he may join the convo. ;-)

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bottoming out, lack of bass, pop, popping

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template-Modifications by TMS
bazooka.com
SAS, BAZOOKA, BASS TUBES, and LISTEN TO YOUR EARS are registered trademarks of Southern Audio Services, Inc.