Go Back   Club Bazooka > Bazooka Technical Forums > Motorcycle Products

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-20-2010, 07:23 AM
fauxfatboy's Avatar
fauxfatboy fauxfatboy is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
fauxfatboy is on a distinguished road
Help 0003 Amp Cutting Out @ Speed

I have just installed the MC HD AK2 on my 2009 Street Glide. It sounds and performs great when parked and the engine off. When I ride the bike, the sound cuts out. I have tried it in CD, Radio, and iPod modes. I have torn the bat wing apart and checked all connections including power, grounds, wiring harness, and speakers. I also checked the gain to verify it was in the suggested position according to the installation sheet. I did find a switch on the auxillary side of the AMP I think it said HPF/ FULL. Where should that be set? Any suggestions?
Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2010, 05:44 PM
Red's Avatar
Red Red is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 27
Red is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Amp Cutting Out @ Speed

the switch should be set on full which stands for full range as far as cutting out that doesn't sound right and maybe a problem with the power or ground terminal try this if your fairing is off wiggle the power and then the ground wire at the terminals on the amp and see if it goes on and off it may be a loose solder joint without the amp it is hard to tell but a good place to start trouble shooting let me know if thats the problem or you can call 1800 the tube leave your number and i will return your call thanks .
Red
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Red For This Useful Post:
heavyduty (01-21-2010)
  #3  
Old 01-22-2010, 10:22 AM
fauxfatboy's Avatar
fauxfatboy fauxfatboy is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
fauxfatboy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Amp Cutting Out @ Speed

Thanks- I have torn the bike apart again. checked the "gain" setting (turned it to 11 o'clock) Returned the switch setting to FULL, and re-checked all my connections- I did move the ground to a better location.
It has started raining- so when the rain stops- I will ride ride the bike and try it again.

Appreciate your response
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2010, 07:52 PM
Red's Avatar
Red Red is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 27
Red is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Amp Cutting Out @ Speed

ok cool pls let us know that outcome and we will fix this problem forsure

Red
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Red For This Useful Post:
heavyduty (01-22-2010)
  #5  
Old 01-22-2010, 07:57 PM
Red's Avatar
Red Red is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 27
Red is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Amp Cutting Out @ Speed

By the way did you try wiggling the wire at the amp to see if it was going to cut out again ?if not and you still have the fairing off pls try it just to eliminate that possible issue and we thank you for your business.

red
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Red For This Useful Post:
heavyduty (01-22-2010)
  #6  
Old 01-28-2010, 01:36 PM
fauxfatboy's Avatar
fauxfatboy fauxfatboy is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
fauxfatboy is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Amp Cutting Out @ Speed

First of all- Thanks for all your helpful comments-
Now- I have solved the clipping problem above 35 MPH, I now have a problem with the sound starting/ stopping @ low speeds and while idling when I stop. (It lasts for only a split second) I suspect I have a wire loose (I did check power and ground connections to amp, and all speaker connections. Do you think this could be in the wiring harness connection? Or could it be in the power wire to the battery? As mentioned before I did move the ground, could it be there?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template-Modifications by TMS
bazooka.com
SAS, BAZOOKA, BASS TUBES, and LISTEN TO YOUR EARS are registered trademarks of Southern Audio Services, Inc.