Go Back   Club Bazooka > Bazooka Technical Forums > Amplified Tube Subwoofers

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2015, 08:52 AM
supernukes's Avatar
supernukes supernukes is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
supernukes is on a distinguished road
Default Trouble with grounding (maybe)

I have a problem with sub working for months (once for a year). Then shutting down. I have my sub under the back seat of a Dakota Quad cab so it is a real pain to take out and keep checking. This problem has been with two different subs (different models). I ended up selling first on ebay and it worked perfectly for buyer. The second I mailed amp off to Bazooka and they said it was fine. I have sub connected to RCA's (sub out) from Pioneer head unit. Power on from head unit. I know it is getting signal from head and I see it turn on (led). works for awhile ( weeks or months) then stops. When I pull out seat (which involves undoing ground as I use seat bolt for ground) and reconnect ground it starts working again. I have noticed varying performance as I change grounds....more bass less bass...etc. How can I check ground...and or fix this issue. The bolt I conect the ground to is backseat chassis bolt.......HELP
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-11-2015, 02:07 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,049
Thanks: 354
Thanked 818 Times in 733 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 828
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Trouble with grounding (maybe)

Quote:
Originally Posted by supernukes View Post
I have a problem with sub working for months (once for a year). Then shutting down. I have my sub under the back seat of a Dakota Quad cab so it is a real pain to take out and keep checking. This problem has been with two different subs (different models). I ended up selling first on ebay and it worked perfectly for buyer. The second I mailed amp off to Bazooka and they said it was fine. I have sub connected to RCA's (sub out) from Pioneer head unit. Power on from head unit. I know it is getting signal from head and I see it turn on (led). works for awhile ( weeks or months) then stops. When I pull out seat (which involves undoing ground as I use seat bolt for ground) and reconnect ground it starts working again. I have noticed varying performance as I change grounds....more bass less bass...etc. How can I check ground...and or fix this issue. The bolt I conect the ground to is backseat chassis bolt.......HELP
First, let me ask, how are you preparing the connection for the ground? How are you prepping the area? Second, how are you connecting the ground wire, to the ground bolt? What kind of terminal?

As for checking the current ground? Before you do anything, grab your trusty DMM, and place a probe on the terminal of the ground wire, and the metal where the groud wire is attached, and measure for resistance. This should read zero. Next, wiggle that ground wire, where the terminal is attached. Is there any change in the impedance?

Post back with your results.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-11-2015, 04:19 PM
supernukes's Avatar
supernukes supernukes is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
supernukes is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Trouble with grounding (maybe)

I just stripped wire and wrapped it around the bolt.....The bolt goes directly into the metal frame of the truck.....because it is a back seat bolt...it is impossible to measure ...I have a voltage meter....#1 would it be better to connect a connecter (circle) to the ground wire solder it and then connect to seat bolt......#2 what type of prepping would help?? #3 how (exactly) would I measure resistance...
Thanks in advance. OH one more thing have you heard of a ground going bad over time...or am I chasing a ghost
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-11-2015, 05:07 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,049
Thanks: 354
Thanked 818 Times in 733 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 828
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Trouble with grounding (maybe)

Quote:
Originally Posted by supernukes View Post
I just stripped wire and wrapped it around the bolt.....The bolt goes directly into the metal frame of the truck.....because it is a back seat bolt...it is impossible to measure ...I have a voltage meter....#1 would it be better to connect a connecter (circle) to the ground wire solder it and then connect to seat bolt......#2 what type of prepping would help?? #3 how (exactly) would I measure resistance...
Thanks in advance. OH one more thing have you heard of a ground going bad over time...or am I chasing a ghost
No, I have never heard of a ground going bad over time. A ground wire that is sufficiently prepped and connected, will only go bad if something breaks, such as a terminal, or the ground wire gets ripped out of a harness.

You have a ground problem, due to the method in which you have made your ground connection. Pull that bolt out, and see how many pieces of stranded wire are left. The reason wire in automotive use can handle high power, and remain flexible, is due to the fact that stranded wire is used. And did I mention, that stranded wire will break if it is twisted, torqued, and sheared, such as when wrapped around a threaded bolt, and tightned down?

Cut the existing strands off and strip the wire. Find a ring terminal, crimp it correctly, and make an adequate ground connection.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to heavyduty For This Useful Post:
Geneh (03-14-2015)
  #5  
Old 03-11-2015, 09:42 PM
supernukes's Avatar
supernukes supernukes is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
supernukes is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Trouble with grounding (maybe)

Thanks I will do that but I think you will be hearing from me in the future....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2015, 08:59 AM
supernukes's Avatar
supernukes supernukes is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
supernukes is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Trouble with grounding (maybe)

OK I finally found the "Ghost".....took whole system apart....12.7 volts on hot wire from battery......got a better ground.....green led light is on but no sound. Took sub and hot wired it to battery and it worked. Checked hot lead again and still over 12 volts...but then I hooked up sub and it dropped to 5.7 volts and did not work....followed hot lead and found an in line fuse that had semi melted its casing and was the cause of on/ off when it got hot sometimes it would make a better connection and work and then cool down and not work.... So it can be a power problem even when you see 12 volts coming in and green led on....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-18-2015, 08:37 AM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,049
Thanks: 354
Thanked 818 Times in 733 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 828
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Trouble with grounding (maybe)

Quote:
Originally Posted by supernukes View Post
OK I finally found the "Ghost".....took whole system apart....12.7 volts on hot wire from battery......got a better ground.....green led light is on but no sound. Took sub and hot wired it to battery and it worked. Checked hot lead again and still over 12 volts...but then I hooked up sub and it dropped to 5.7 volts and did not work....followed hot lead and found an in line fuse that had semi melted its casing and was the cause of on/ off when it got hot sometimes it would make a better connection and work and then cool down and not work.... So it can be a power problem even when you see 12 volts coming in and green led on....
You are still dealing with an installation issue. You have a less than adequate ground connection, and you obviously have a issue with either the location, or installation, of your in-line fuse holder. Ground and power problems, do not creep up out of nowhere, or as you call them "ghost." There is always a root cause.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to heavyduty For This Useful Post:
Geneh (03-24-2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template-Modifications by TMS
bazooka.com
SAS, BAZOOKA, BASS TUBES, and LISTEN TO YOUR EARS are registered trademarks of Southern Audio Services, Inc.