Go Back   Club Bazooka > Bazooka Technical Forums > Amplified Tube Subwoofers

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2015, 05:05 PM
doco2279's Avatar
doco2279 doco2279 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 11
doco2279 is on a distinguished road
Default A-40 Tube - HELP

Hello,

I was cleaning out my back room and I found an old A-40 amplified Basstube. I just happened to buy a new to me S-10 and want to install this tube behind the seat. Problem is, I don't have the plug for the basstube. I have read a little bit here and it appears this item is no longer in stock. Is there anyway that I can wire this in without the plug? Also, I'm trying to figure out what the pins are for. I've already looked at the wiring diagram, but it doesn't add up. It looks like I have pins. Looking at the wiring diagram, it has 9 wires on the diagram. So, I'm not sure what pin goes to what. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-15-2015, 08:02 PM
doco2279's Avatar
doco2279 doco2279 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 11
doco2279 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A-40 Tube - HELP

I meant to say it looks like I have 8 pins...but it looks like there should be nine according to the wiring diagram.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2015, 03:36 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,060
Thanks: 356
Thanked 820 Times in 735 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 830
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: A-40 Tube - HELP

Quote:
Originally Posted by doco2279 View Post
Hello,

I was cleaning out my back room and I found an old A-40 amplified Basstube. I just happened to buy a new to me S-10 and want to install this tube behind the seat. Problem is, I don't have the plug for the basstube. I have read a little bit here and it appears this item is no longer in stock. Is there anyway that I can wire this in without the plug? Also, I'm trying to figure out what the pins are for. I've already looked at the wiring diagram, but it doesn't add up. It looks like I have pins. Looking at the wiring diagram, it has 9 wires on the diagram. So, I'm not sure what pin goes to what. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Yes, you are correct, so you will have to connect directly to the pins, either by soldering wires one at a time, or, using a 16-22 AWG connector.

As for the missing pin, that is the negative pin of the low-level inputs. Depending on how much time and energy you want to put into this, I would connect using the High-Level Inputs from the speakers. With the voltage of most head-units today, even if you install a LOC, you will be better off than using the low level. I believe these were 1 volt, maybe 2 volt max input voltage. Just remember, this was a long, long time ago.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to heavyduty For This Useful Post:
Geneh (07-17-2015)
  #4  
Old 07-16-2015, 04:56 PM
doco2279's Avatar
doco2279 doco2279 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 11
doco2279 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A-40 Tube - HELP

Thanks for the info. Would a generic 6 or 8 pin connector work for this. I think that might be easier than soldering or connecting to each individual pin.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2015, 12:35 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,060
Thanks: 356
Thanked 820 Times in 735 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 830
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: A-40 Tube - HELP

Quote:
Originally Posted by doco2279 View Post
Thanks for the info. Would a generic 6 or 8 pin connector work for this. I think that might be easier than soldering or connecting to each individual pin.
It should work out, most of the time pin size is universal. You may not have a locking harness, but you can always find a way around that.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-17-2015, 02:21 PM
doco2279's Avatar
doco2279 doco2279 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 11
doco2279 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A-40 Tube - HELP

Well, I'm going to try out using the barrel connectors. I ordered an 8 pin connector anyhow. I'll see how that goes and report back in case anyone else is in my situation.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-18-2015, 01:04 PM
doco2279's Avatar
doco2279 doco2279 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 11
doco2279 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A-40 Tube - HELP

So, I've got everything hooked up. It doesn't sound to bad. Fills in the bass I'm missing. I need to keep it turned down because in a regular cab S-10 you just don't need much to fill it up. I'm currently running it on barrel connectors. Every once in awhile it does a weird thing where is thumps really hard like something is out of whack. It is hard to explain. I think it might be that the barrel connectors are not tight enough and they are wiggling around. I'll see if it gets any better with the connector I'm waiting on in the mail. Other than a loose connection, what else could it be? It's like it will get really loud for a second and than go back to normal. I know this thing is ancient. Ever heard of an issue like this?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-20-2015, 11:43 AM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,060
Thanks: 356
Thanked 820 Times in 735 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 830
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: A-40 Tube - HELP

Quote:
Originally Posted by doco2279 View Post
So, I've got everything hooked up. It doesn't sound to bad. Fills in the bass I'm missing. I need to keep it turned down because in a regular cab S-10 you just don't need much to fill it up. I'm currently running it on barrel connectors. Every once in awhile it does a weird thing where is thumps really hard like something is out of whack. It is hard to explain. I think it might be that the barrel connectors are not tight enough and they are wiggling around. I'll see if it gets any better with the connector I'm waiting on in the mail. Other than a loose connection, what else could it be? It's like it will get really loud for a second and than go back to normal. I know this thing is ancient. Ever heard of an issue like this?
Any other noises? Any kind of ignition noise when driving? Any turn-on thumps? My initial thought is to check the ground connection. And, while you are at the back of the Tube, take a moment to twist the level potentiometer. If this starts crackling or making any noise, the pot needs to be replaced.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-20-2015, 08:36 PM
doco2279's Avatar
doco2279 doco2279 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 11
doco2279 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A-40 Tube - HELP

No other noises that I've noticed. Two days on and I haven't heard any noises since. I did fool around with the cross-over and level and now it is sounding really good. I just got my connector in the mail today. It that works, I'll post and let anyone else with one of these old tubes know they can just order a generic connector. I appreciate all the help thus far.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-26-2015, 11:30 AM
doco2279's Avatar
doco2279 doco2279 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 11
doco2279 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: A-40 Tube - HELP

My 8 pin connector came in and I got it wired and hooked up. It fits the bass tube exactly and clips in securely. I know the interface is a nine pin, but for my application I only needed three actual pins, the acc power and the two high level inputs. If anyone has one of these old models and needs a wiring harness, google (8-PIN CONNECTOR W/HEADER, 0.156")and you should be in business. I couldn't find a 9 pin, but there is a 10 pin you could get if you wanted the ability to use all the wires. You can probably find these at Radioshack as well. This particular connector set me back $3.00.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to doco2279 For This Useful Post:
heavyduty (07-27-2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template-Modifications by TMS
bazooka.com
SAS, BAZOOKA, BASS TUBES, and LISTEN TO YOUR EARS are registered trademarks of Southern Audio Services, Inc.