Go Back   Club Bazooka > General Discussion > Customer Service

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-14-2008, 01:52 PM
rayp4993's Avatar
rayp4993 rayp4993 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
rayp4993 is on a distinguished road
Help 0003 new problem discovered haha

Well i was driving around testing out my bazooka ela 500.1 and going back to the last post i mentioned that my gain knob is broken. Well i was wondering because the bass sometimes cuts out and i have to push the knob in "well whats left of the knob" . If i get the bass control module it supposedly overrides the knob. So if i get that will it get rid of the cutting out because of the knob?
thanks guys for the support i love the amp btw.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-14-2008, 03:04 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,950
Thanks: 351
Thanked 771 Times in 690 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 781
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: new problem discovered haha

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayp4993 View Post
Well i was driving around testing out my bazooka ela 500.1 and going back to the last post i mentioned that my gain knob is broken. Well i was wondering because the bass sometimes cuts out and i have to push the knob in "well whats left of the knob" . If i get the bass control module it supposedly overrides the knob. So if i get that will it get rid of the cutting out because of the knob?
thanks guys for the support i love the amp btw.
Heyrayp, if you have a bad potentiometer then using the RBCM will not help. The RBCM only overrides the bass boost on the amplifier. The EL Series Amplifier line is unbeatable when it comes to power, performance, features, reliability and cost.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-14-2008, 04:48 PM
rayp4993's Avatar
rayp4993 rayp4993 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
rayp4993 is on a distinguished road
Thank You Re: new problem discovered haha

so i need to replace the potentiometer?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2008, 04:57 PM
rayp4993's Avatar
rayp4993 rayp4993 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
rayp4993 is on a distinguished road
Help 0003 Re: new problem discovered haha

and where can i get the right potentiometer for my amp?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-14-2008, 08:02 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,950
Thanks: 351
Thanked 771 Times in 690 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 781
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: new problem discovered haha

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayp4993 View Post
so i need to replace the potentiometer?
Have you fixed your terminal set screws yet? As for your gain, after the initial setting, you should not have to keep adjusting it. Just because you are missing a knob doesn't mean that the potentiometer is bad. A quick check would be to turn the gain all the way down. If the volume goes down and stays down, then turn the gain up. If the volume goes up and stays up, you do not have a bad potentiometer.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-14-2008, 08:08 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,950
Thanks: 351
Thanked 771 Times in 690 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 781
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: new problem discovered haha

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayp4993 View Post
and where can i get the right potentiometer for my amp?
You will need to contact Gene for the information on the amplifier. You can call Bazooka (1-800-THE-TUBE) or you send him a PM.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-14-2008, 08:12 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,950
Thanks: 351
Thanked 771 Times in 690 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 781
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: new problem discovered haha

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayp4993 View Post
so i need to replace the potentiometer?
Hey rayp, can you clarify something for me? Are you referring to the Bass Boost on the amplifier or the gain on the amplifier? I'm curious as I posted, the gain is usually set and left alone. Your previous post has made me wonder what you are actually adjusting.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-15-2008, 04:48 PM
rayp4993's Avatar
rayp4993 rayp4993 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
rayp4993 is on a distinguished road
Help 0003 Re: new problem discovered haha

It is the gain knob
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-15-2008, 08:53 PM
rayp4993's Avatar
rayp4993 rayp4993 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
rayp4993 is on a distinguished road
Help 0003 Re: new problem discovered haha

And its the gain knob for sure because when it cuts out i have to push the gain knob in and then it comes right back
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-15-2008, 09:08 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,950
Thanks: 351
Thanked 771 Times in 690 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 781
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: new problem discovered haha

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayp4993 View Post
And its the gain knob for sure because when it cuts out i have to push the gain knob in and then it comes right back
You will have to get with Gene about a replacement potentiometer. You can call Bazooka (1-800-THE-TUBE) or you can PM him (Geneh). If you do not have a local electronics repairman, you can also call Bazooka and ask to speak to CJ about having the amplifier sent in for repairs.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to heavyduty For This Useful Post:
rayp4993 (12-16-2008)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template-Modifications by TMS
bazooka.com
SAS, BAZOOKA, BASS TUBES, and LISTEN TO YOUR EARS are registered trademarks of Southern Audio Services, Inc.