Go Back   Club Bazooka > General Discussion > Introductions

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-30-2008, 02:37 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,950
Thanks: 351
Thanked 771 Times in 690 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 781
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Hello from the Bay Area, BTA6200.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbertsAW11 View Post
Good thing I was scared of all of that so I didn't do anything. Let me try and get my friend that is more knowledgeable and psot back, thanks for your help
That is what the forum is for, helping people out. Great, after reading your last post I was worried that you had damaged the amplifier. Post back when you get a chance and let me know what you discover.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to heavyduty For This Useful Post:
AlbertsAW11 (11-30-2008)
  #12  
Old 11-30-2008, 02:49 PM
AlbertsAW11's Avatar
AlbertsAW11 AlbertsAW11 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
AlbertsAW11 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Hello from the Bay Area, BTA6200.

Well I test the ground and the 12v+ and they both are giving 12v...but the sub still wont power on... the first time I connected the sub i did it like the diagram had it.. the red to red black to black and the RCA cables and nothing happened.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-30-2008, 02:50 PM
AlbertsAW11's Avatar
AlbertsAW11 AlbertsAW11 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
AlbertsAW11 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Hello from the Bay Area, BTA6200.

I also tried connecting the red 12v to the orange and the black ground to the black on the sub.. no cigar..
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-30-2008, 02:52 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,950
Thanks: 351
Thanked 771 Times in 690 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 781
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Hello from the Bay Area, BTA6200.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbertsAW11 View Post
I also tried connecting the red 12v to the orange and the black ground to the black on the sub.. no cigar..
Where are you getting your remote turn on power from? And have you checked your inline fuse?
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to heavyduty For This Useful Post:
AlbertsAW11 (11-30-2008)
  #15  
Old 11-30-2008, 02:53 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,950
Thanks: 351
Thanked 771 Times in 690 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 781
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Hello from the Bay Area, BTA6200.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbertsAW11 View Post
Well I test the ground and the 12v+ and they both are giving 12v...but the sub still wont power on... the first time I connected the sub i did it like the diagram had it.. the red to red black to black and the RCA cables and nothing happened.
The remote wire also needs to be powered for the Tube to come on. Just wiring the 12v red and ground will not turn the Tube on.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to heavyduty For This Useful Post:
AlbertsAW11 (11-30-2008)
  #16  
Old 11-30-2008, 03:01 PM
AlbertsAW11's Avatar
AlbertsAW11 AlbertsAW11 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
AlbertsAW11 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Hello from the Bay Area, BTA6200.

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyduty View Post
The remote wire also needs to be powered for the Tube to come on. Just wiring the 12v red and ground will not turn the Tube on.
Oh no wonder...i'm assuming i need to power the remote through the headunit receiver?

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyduty View Post
Where are you getting your remote turn on power from? And have you checked your inline fuse?
I never really worried about the orange wire..I didn't know that was necessary . Inline fuse? Like the fuse inside the subwoofer? once again I really appreciate your help
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-30-2008, 03:03 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,950
Thanks: 351
Thanked 771 Times in 690 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 781
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Hello from the Bay Area, BTA6200.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbertsAW11 View Post
Oh no wonder...i'm assuming i need to power the remote through the headunit receiver?



I never really worried about the orange wire..I didn't know that was necessary . Inline fuse? Like the fuse inside the subwoofer? once again I really appreciate your help
Yes, the headunit usually has a blue wire labeled remote. This is for adding amplifiers and is the key-on/key-off power source for the unit. Remember, the battery 12v is a constant power source. No, the inline power fuse just to make sure that you haven't shorted it out.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to heavyduty For This Useful Post:
AlbertsAW11 (11-30-2008)
  #18  
Old 11-30-2008, 03:08 PM
AlbertsAW11's Avatar
AlbertsAW11 AlbertsAW11 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
AlbertsAW11 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Hello from the Bay Area, BTA6200.

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyduty View Post
Yes, the headunit usually has a blue wire labeled remote. This is for adding amplifiers and is the key-on/key-off power source for the unit. Remember, the battery 12v is a constant power source. No, the inline power fuse just to make sure that you haven't shorted it out.
Alright..thanks. I'm parrety sure I havn't shorted it.if I have..I would have to replace it right? Is there anything else I could have damaged internally from trying to install this?

So I would have to get a longer wire to attach to the blue remote wire and wire it to the orange from the sub right? Then also wire the red 12v and the ground? and I should have power? Sorry for asking so many questions. I am fairly new to this. I'm just hoping the sub isn't damaged in any way.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-30-2008, 03:11 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,950
Thanks: 351
Thanked 771 Times in 690 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 781
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Hello from the Bay Area, BTA6200.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlbertsAW11 View Post
Alright..thanks. I'm parrety sure I havn't shorted it.if I have..I would have to replace it right? Is there anything else I could have damaged internally from trying to install this?

So I would have to get a longer wire to attach to the blue remote wire and wire it to the orange from the sub right? Then also wire the red 12v and the ground? and I should have power? Sorry for asking so many questions. I am fairly new to this. I'm just hoping the sub isn't damaged in any way.
As long as you have not powered the ground wire, your internal amplifier is fine. If the fuse is blown, you need to replace it. Yes, you have to get a 16-18 gauge wire to connect the blue remote wire to the orange wire on the Tube. As for the questions, again, no problem. This is what the Bazooka Forum is for, helping people out.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to heavyduty For This Useful Post:
AlbertsAW11 (11-30-2008)
  #20  
Old 11-30-2008, 03:19 PM
AlbertsAW11's Avatar
AlbertsAW11 AlbertsAW11 is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 21
Thanks: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
AlbertsAW11 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Hello from the Bay Area, BTA6200.

I will try that and report back. Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template-Modifications by TMS
bazooka.com
SAS, BAZOOKA, BASS TUBES, and LISTEN TO YOUR EARS are registered trademarks of Southern Audio Services, Inc.