Go Back   Club Bazooka > Bazooka Technical Forums > Component Amplifiers

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-07-2007, 08:12 PM
glenshaw's Avatar
glenshaw glenshaw is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Greenfield Park, OT, Canada.
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
glenshaw
Default ba260 blew 25amp fuse and funny smell

I installed a ba260 as per instructions about 6-8 months ago.
Everything worked and sounded fine.

Now all of a sudden.
When I turned on my radio,
I heard a loud crackle/pop, and then started to smell that funny electronic smell.
Immediatly turned off radio.
Checked and discovered the 25 amp fuse had blown.

Should I bring to a service center or try to replace fuse?

thanks in advance.
Gs

P.S. It was cold this morning when it happened ( -13 Celcius )
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2007, 08:18 PM
aznboi3644's Avatar
aznboi3644 aznboi3644 is offline
Tech Junkie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: , , .
Posts: 438
Thanks: 11
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 22
aznboi3644 is on a distinguished road
Default

check all wires and connections

How is your amp grounded??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2007, 09:29 PM
glenshaw's Avatar
glenshaw glenshaw is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Greenfield Park, OT, Canada.
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
glenshaw
Default

Amp is grounded with a 6" (8 gauge) (same size as power wire)
to a bolt that holds seat onto chassis.

It's really cold up here (Canada) So I'm going to put off rechecking all of the wiring till a warmer day.

But from memory...
all connections were crimped with plastic & metal connectors,
then taped black electrical tape.

All large wiring harnesses(I.E near Head Unit) were also taped with electrical tape.

thanks
Gs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2007, 10:43 PM
aznboi3644's Avatar
aznboi3644 aznboi3644 is offline
Tech Junkie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: , , .
Posts: 438
Thanks: 11
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 22
aznboi3644 is on a distinguished road
Default

was the harness wiring connections made with crimp type connectors??? or just twisted and taped??

Bad ground possibly...did you sand away all paint??

if not...remove that bolt and ground terminal....sand down the spot until it is shiney and you see bare metal...then reconnect the ground
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2007, 08:05 AM
glenshaw's Avatar
glenshaw glenshaw is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Greenfield Park, OT, Canada.
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
glenshaw
Default

All connections were crimped then taped.

I don't remember if i sanded down.

I'll try that as soon as it gets a bit warmer.
along with verifing all of the connections.

Thanks for your help.

Gs
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2007, 09:31 AM
coyg's Avatar
coyg coyg is offline
Tech Junkie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: baton rouge, LA, USA.
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
coyg
Default

A seat bolt is a bad ground and you need to change it as sonn as possible. Find a flat spot on the floor sand it to bare metal, drill a hole in the floor then nut and bolt the ground there.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2007, 04:57 PM
glenshaw's Avatar
glenshaw glenshaw is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Greenfield Park, OT, Canada.
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
glenshaw
Default

Ok, I pull the fuse until I can get it properly grounded.

Question, could there be any un repairable damage done?

I did smell that funny electronic smell...

Thanks
Gs
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-08-2007, 05:03 PM
coyg's Avatar
coyg coyg is offline
Tech Junkie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: baton rouge, LA, USA.
Posts: 335
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
coyg
Default

Possible but not likely.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-01-2007, 08:24 PM
sbmunn's Avatar
sbmunn sbmunn is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Calgary, OT, canada.
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
sbmunn
Default

I just removed my ba260 and subwoofer with the same problem, about 2 weeks ago I noticed I didnt have the usual thump to the stereo as I had, I opened the trunk and the sub was not making a sound. I looked under the seat and the amp was not on. I checked the 30 amp fuse at the battery and it was blown. I went too my ground as suggested in this forum and sanded down some more, I replaced the 30 amp fuse and still nothing, I checked the amplifier and the 25amp fuse was blown. I pulled out the 30 amp at the battery and replaced the 25amp fuse, put in the 30 amp fuse at the battery, turned on the radio and the 25 amp fuse in the amplifier blew, repeated this two more times, wasnt having much fun and decided to pull the amp and wiring out, rather be safe than sorry. dont know if its the -35C temperature we had awile ago or not.




I installed a ba260 as per instructions about 6-8 months ago.
Everything worked and sounded fine.

Now all of a sudden.
When I turned on my radio,
I heard a loud crackle/pop, and then started to smell that funny electronic smell.
Immediatly turned off radio.
Checked and discovered the 25 amp fuse had blown.

Should I bring to a service center or try to replace fuse?

thanks in advance.
Gs

P.S. It was cold this morning when it happened ( -13 Celcius )
[/quote]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-01-2007, 09:06 PM
migs1974's Avatar
migs1974 migs1974 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Schwenksville, PA, USA.
Posts: 77
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 0
migs1974
Default

is it possible that the amp got so cold (-13 Celcius is f'n cold!) that maybe a little frost formed and as the amp warms up it condenses on the inside and shorts something?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Uh-Oh... whats that smell??? onyx2002 Amplified Tube Subwoofers 0 09-19-2007 04:46 PM
NOS6 and BA260 amp question mx5 Passive Tube Subwoofers 3 05-08-2007 12:27 AM
BA260 / RSA75.2HC Remote questions mx5 Component Amplifiers 0 05-07-2007 07:41 PM
funny problem help!!! peewee123 Component Amplifiers 1 04-14-2003 11:39 AM
I think i blew my sub cabob7 Raw Woofers 2 03-11-2003 08:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template-Modifications by TMS
bazooka.com
SAS, BAZOOKA, BASS TUBES, and LISTEN TO YOUR EARS are registered trademarks of Southern Audio Services, Inc.