Go Back   Club Bazooka > Bazooka Technical Forums > Amplified Tube Subwoofers

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2011, 08:28 AM
RonnieD's Avatar
RonnieD RonnieD is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 10
RonnieD is on a distinguished road
Help 0003 Blown Capacitors (I think) - Need Help

I bought an EL8A used on Craigslist. I brought it to my local stereo shop to have it installed, left the car there and got a call shortly after that the tube didn't work.

Since it wasn't installed when I bought it, I had no way of testing to see if it worked or not.

Anyhow, the guy at the shop said it was likely the capacitors.

I did enough research to figure out what a capacitor was and how to find them. I looked inside and good enough 3 capacitors seemed to be blown (the tops were open and there was dried gooey stuff around the base).

I pulled off the capacitors and brought them to radio shack but they didn't have the replacements.

I don't really know what to do or whether its even worth it.

If it's not worth fixing the amplifier, can an active tube be used as a passive?

Any help would be sincerely appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-19-2011, 10:16 AM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,952
Thanks: 351
Thanked 771 Times in 690 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 781
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Blown Capacitors (I think) - Need Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by RonnieD View Post
I bought an EL8A used on Craigslist. I brought it to my local stereo shop to have it installed, left the car there and got a call shortly after that the tube didn't work.

Since it wasn't installed when I bought it, I had no way of testing to see if it worked or not.

Anyhow, the guy at the shop said it was likely the capacitors.

I did enough research to figure out what a capacitor was and how to find them. I looked inside and good enough 3 capacitors seemed to be blown (the tops were open and there was dried gooey stuff around the base).

I pulled off the capacitors and brought them to radio shack but they didn't have the replacements.

I don't really know what to do or whether its even worth it.

If it's not worth fixing the amplifier, can an active tube be used as a passive?

Any help would be sincerely appreciated.
If you are handy with a soldering iron, trying a repair will be an inexpensive. You will ned to find replacement capacitors at a electronics shop that has a larger inventory. Try an online site for the biggest inventory and best price (Parts Express or Mouser).

If you decide to make the unit passive you will need to measure the resistance of the driver to match with an amplifier. Do not use a amplifier with an output over 100 watts.

You can also call Customer Service and inquire about a replacement amplifier, which will be significantly cheaper versus using the unit as a passive unit.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amplified as passive, blown amplifier, capacitors

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template-Modifications by TMS
bazooka.com
SAS, BAZOOKA, BASS TUBES, and LISTEN TO YOUR EARS are registered trademarks of Southern Audio Services, Inc.