Go Back   Club Bazooka > Bazooka Technical Forums > Amplified Tube Subwoofers

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2008, 03:05 PM
riptide10x's Avatar
riptide10x riptide10x is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 11
riptide10x is on a distinguished road
Help 0003 FAST-BTAH Add an inline fuse?

I just got my BTA8100 and am hooking it up with a FAST-2003 T-harness interface adapter for my 2005 Silverado and a FAST-BTAH extension harness. Neither of these rigs have a fuse anywhere in them, but the installation manual for the subwoofer says it's got to have one inline. I'm thinking that since the power is coming through the factory wiring via the radio and fusebox, that it does not need another fuse inline. Also, the power wire in the above mentioned harnesses is quite a bit smaller than the harness supplied with the sub. Is it going to get enough juice through these FAST rigs? This sub is powered by it's own amp so I guess the only real issue is the size of the power supply line and the fuse. I would be thankful for anyone's input on this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2008, 03:20 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,952
Thanks: 351
Thanked 771 Times in 690 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 781
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: FAST-BTAH Add an inline fuse?

Quote:
Originally Posted by riptide10x View Post
I just got my BTA8100 and am hooking it up with a FAST-2003 T-harness interface adapter for my 2005 Silverado and a FAST-BTAH extension harness. Neither of these rigs have a fuse anywhere in them, but the installation manual for the subwoofer says it's got to have one inline. I'm thinking that since the power is coming through the factory wiring via the radio and fusebox, that it does not need another fuse inline. Also, the power wire in the above mentioned harnesses is quite a bit smaller than the harness supplied with the sub. Is it going to get enough juice through these FAST rigs? This sub is powered by it's own amp so I guess the only real issue is the size of the power supply line and the fuse. I would be thankful for anyone's input on this.
Welcome to the Bazooka Forum ritptide. First, let me say that it is obvious that you have read the owners manual with your BTA8100, and that always helps. Your first question regarding the fuse, when you use the FAST Harness and BTAH Extension Harness, you no longer need to run a seperate power wire, as you have already tapped into the factory harness for your 12v power. However, you will need to increase your factory fuse size by 5 or 10 amps (just check your owners manual to find out what fuse in the fuse box needs to be replaced.) As for the wire size of the BTAH, you do not need to worry, these items are all matched to work perfectly with the BTA8100 Tube. Please post back with anymore questions you may have with regards to the install or placement of the Tube, or anymore questions. You will be quite happy with that Tube after it is installed.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to heavyduty For This Useful Post:
Kingfish (01-19-2009), riptide10x (12-28-2008)
  #3  
Old 01-01-2009, 09:31 AM
riptide10x's Avatar
riptide10x riptide10x is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 11
riptide10x is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FAST-BTAH Add an inline fuse?

Thanks for the quick and helpful reply Heavyduty. This forum is a great help for us less experienced installers. I wish there was something like this for all products, it would make life much easier.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to riptide10x For This Useful Post:
Kingfish (01-19-2009)
  #4  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:26 PM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,952
Thanks: 351
Thanked 771 Times in 690 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 781
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: FAST-BTAH Add an inline fuse?

Quote:
Originally Posted by riptide10x View Post
Thanks for the quick and helpful reply Heavyduty. This forum is a great help for us less experienced installers. I wish there was something like this for all products, it would make life much easier.
Your more then welcome riptide, and that's what the Bazooka Forum is for, helping Bazooka consumers and car audio enthusiasts, no matter what their experience level.
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to heavyduty For This Useful Post:
Kingfish (01-01-2009)
  #5  
Old 01-07-2009, 07:58 AM
riptide10x's Avatar
riptide10x riptide10x is offline
Just Gettin Started
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 11
riptide10x is on a distinguished road
Default Re: FAST-BTAH Add an inline fuse?

Ok, I've got my 8100 installed with a good ground and hooked up to the factory cd/stereo with the Bazooka FAST-T-harness and Bazooka FAST-extension. Everything plugs in perfectly, but the Sub won't turn on. I checked the power with a volt meter at the end of the harness that plugs into the sub and it shows 12 volts, but the green light on the sub won't light. I tried adjusting the phase switch both ways and turning the volume knob on the sub up and down but I still get nothing. All the other functions of the radio work perfectly as before so I'm pretty sure the harness is good. When I called Crutchfield the guy said it might be something to do with the remote turn on lead. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2009, 08:11 AM
heavyduty's Avatar
heavyduty heavyduty is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,952
Thanks: 351
Thanked 771 Times in 690 Posts
Groans: 0
Groaned at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Reputation: 781
heavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to beholdheavyduty is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: FAST-BTAH Add an inline fuse?

Quote:
Originally Posted by riptide10x View Post
Ok, I've got my 8100 installed with a good ground and hooked up to the factory cd/stereo with the Bazooka FAST-T-harness and Bazooka FAST-extension. Everything plugs in perfectly, but the Sub won't turn on. I checked the power with a volt meter at the end of the harness that plugs into the sub and it shows 12 volts, but the green light on the sub won't light. I tried adjusting the phase switch both ways and turning the volume knob on the sub up and down but I still get nothing. All the other functions of the radio work perfectly as before so I'm pretty sure the harness is good. When I called Crutchfield the guy said it might be something to do with the remote turn on lead. Any ideas?
Hey riptide, the Crutchfield rep is correct, if you do not have a 12v turn on lead, then the green light or the sub will not turn on. The 12v turn on lead is also your key-on/key-off source, meaning it turns the sub on or off with the vehicle. Have you disconnected th auto-turn on loop by any chance?

http://www.bazooka.com/pdf/current/T...gualforweb.pdf
__________________
power your system down
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to heavyduty For This Useful Post:
Geneh (01-09-2009)
Reply

Tags
bta8100, fast harness, fast t-harness for gm, inline fuse?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template-Modifications by TMS
bazooka.com
SAS, BAZOOKA, BASS TUBES, and LISTEN TO YOUR EARS are registered trademarks of Southern Audio Services, Inc.