Club Bazooka

Club Bazooka (http://www.bazooka.com/forums/index.php)
-   Hook me up! (http://www.bazooka.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Help! (http://www.bazooka.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5082)

tim1087 06-15-2008 10:08 PM

Help!
 
Ok, I bought the Bazooka Party pack, came with the 2 10" subs, amp, and box. I bought the wiring kit, everything was ready to go.

Wired the power wire from my battery all the way back to my amp. The power wire has a fuse bridging it, with a 40 amp fuse in it.

Wired the rca cables and Remote cable from the back of my head unit,to my amp.

Wired the ground grom my seatbelt bolt..back to the amp.

Plugged the 25 amp fuse that came with the kit into the amp..turned the key..and boom, the fuse blew...

Hmm...checked all the wiring, put a new fuse in..boom..blew again.

I even tried moving the ground location..the wire is inbetween 2 metal washers..boom, blown fuse.

What's the problem? Only the fuse in the amp is blowing, not the fuse in the power cable. The power light on the amp goes on..then fades out..and the fuse pops.

What can this be? Any help? Thank you.

rainmanspl 06-15-2008 11:33 PM

Re: Help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tim1087 (Post 23683)
Ok, I bought the Bazooka Party pack, came with the 2 10" subs, amp, and box. I bought the wiring kit, everything was ready to go.

Wired the power wire from my battery all the way back to my amp. The power wire has a fuse bridging it, with a 40 amp fuse in it.

Wired the rca cables and Remote cable from the back of my head unit,to my amp.

Wired the ground grom my seatbelt bolt..back to the amp.

Plugged the 25 amp fuse that came with the kit into the amp..turned the key..and boom, the fuse blew...

Hmm...checked all the wiring, put a new fuse in..boom..blew again.

I even tried moving the ground location..the wire is inbetween 2 metal washers..boom, blown fuse.

What's the problem? Only the fuse in the amp is blowing, not the fuse in the power cable. The power light on the amp goes on..then fades out..and the fuse pops.

What can this be? Any help? Thank you.




Check the connections at the amp. Be sure there are no stray strands of wire. Use a DMM and check the resistance at the amps speaker connections. It is possible a speaker wire may have come loose in shipping and shorting the outputs. And again be sure you have proper polarity on your power inputs.

tim1087 06-15-2008 11:49 PM

Re: Help!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmanspl (Post 23685)
Check the connections at the amp. Be sure there are no stray strands of wire. Use a DMM and check the resistance at the amps speaker connections. It is possible a speaker wire may have come loose in shipping and shorting the outputs. And again be sure you have proper polarity on your power inputs.

What should the DMM read at the speaker wire imput?

what's proper polarity at the power imputs?

rainmanspl 06-16-2008 08:23 PM

Re: Help!
 
If I'm not mistaken, the DMM should read 1.8ohms at the amps speaker output. As for polarity, + to + and - to -. Make sure the power lead from the battery is on the + terminal of the amp and not on the - (ground) terminal.

Rodek 06-24-2008 11:24 PM

Re: Help!
 
Is it possible for you to borrow a buddy's amp? You can hook it up to your existing wiring to rule out a bad amp. The downside however, is if there's an installation error, you could damage your buddy's amp.

Also, you could try hooking up one woofer at a time. If the amp plays one woofer fine and then you hook up the second one and it shuts off, you have a bad woofer.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
bazooka.com